Photo: AFUB members and partners


The African Union of the Blind (AFUB) is the WBU Secretariat for Africa for Africa Region. AFUB is a continental non-governmental organisation (NGO) of national organisations/ associations of and for blind and partially sighted people in Africa. It was established in October 1987, in Tunis, Tunisia, under the auspices of the Organisation of African Unity (OAU) now African Union (AU).


The Mission of AFUB is “to strengthen member organisations and create unity of purpose among them through capacity building and advocacy in partnership with governments, international agencies and other stakeholders”. Read more


The African Union of the Blind, AFUB’s work cuts across the whole of the African continent. Currently we have national organisations of and for the blind and partially sighted persons from 53 African countries and we run programs in all these countries indiscriminately. The membership is currently organised into five regions.

Central Africa with 10 countries: Burundi, Cameroon, Central Africa Republic, Chad, Republic of Congo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Rwanda, and Sao Tome & Principe

East Africa with 12 countries: Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritius, Seychelles, Somalia, Sudan, South Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda

North Africa with 6 countries: Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Mauritania, Morocco, and Tunisia

Southern Africa with 10 countries: Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, and Zimbabwe

West Africa with 15 countries: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Ivory Coast, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea Bissau, Guinea, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo

Each region has a regional assembly that meets at least six months before the union’s general assembly. Part of its agenda is to elect a regional chair who will later be a member of the AFUB board of Officers. Here is the full list of WBU members in Africa 


Regional Office-African Union of the Blind
(Union Africaine des Aveugles – UAFA)
P.O. Box 72872-00200
Nairobi, Kenya

Regional President: Ishumael Zhou, Zimbabwe (Since 2019)

International liaison: Lucas Amoda, Acting Executive Director
Phone: +254 704 37 6300
E-mail: lucas @; lucasamoda @
Twitter: @AFUB_UAFA

For more information visit the African Union of the Blind website.


Uganda: Mainstreaming Washington Group of Questions
WBU jointly with Uganda National Association of the blind (UNAB) implemented a national project on advocating for continued inclusion of Washington Group of Questions in Uganda national Censuses, surveys and other data collection. The project was funded by CBM International. Read more

Kenya: Mainstreaming Accessibility and Disability Inclusion in Disaster Risk Reduction Policies 

The Kenya Union of the Blind (KUB) in partnership with WBU and with financial support from CBM International, implemented an advocacy project on Mainstreaming Accessibility and Disability Inclusion in Disaster Risk Reduction Policies in Kenya.” Read more


Agenda 2063: The Africa We Want

AGENDA 2063 is Africa’s strategic framework that aims to deliver on its goal for inclusive and sustainable development and is a concrete manifestation of the pan-African drive for unity, self-determination, freedom, progress and collective prosperity. Read more


Toolkit on Disability Africa
This Module provides guidance for the development and implementation of national action plans that either focus directly on disability or include a significant disability dimension. The module explains the role national action plans can play in advancing implementation of CRPD Read more

Share this: